Changsha talks cultural ties with East Asian neighbors

Updated:2017-09-01 10:37:09

  The ninth China-Japan-South Korea Ministerial Conference on Culture and the Culture city of East Asia Summit were held in Tokyo, Japan, from Aug 25 to 26, aimed at boost cooperation and understanding between cities in the eastern Asian countries.

  Delegates at the conference included China's Minister of Culture Luo Shugang, Japan's State Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology Yoshimasa Hayashi and South Korea's Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism.

  During the two-day meeting, representatives from 12 cities awarded with the title "Culture City of East Asia" from each participating country, united to share exchanges and discuss the development of the cultural event. They were joined by other culture cities from ASEAN countries, among them Singapore, Vietnam, Brunei, and the Philippines.

  Changsha Vice Mayor Chen Zhong said in his speech at the meeting that "The Hunan province capital will establish and perfect the cultural exchange mechanism with foreign countries, centering on the construction of being a Culture City of East Asia".

  Changsha won the title of 2017 Culture City of East Asia out of several domestic competitors.

Changsha talks cultural ties with East Asian neighbors

Twelve cities awarded the title of Culture City of East Asia reach a declaration to promote cultural exchanges and mutual understanding at the Culture city of East Asia Summit held in Tokyo, Japan, on Aug 26. [Photo/]

  The dozen cities reached a common consensus signing a Tokyo declaration on the tri-nation cultural event, in efforts to set up a smooth communication mechanism, deepen friendly relations and boost cooperation.

  "Changsha is expected to expand exchanges and cooperation on various fields of economy, trades, tourism, sports and technology with other countries," Chen said.

  Initiated by China, Japan and South Korea in 2014, the East Asian City of Culture campaign is an important cultural brand in the region to boost cultural cooperation and enhance mutual understanding.

  The Chinese cities of Quanzhou, Qingdao, Ningbo and Changsha, Yokohama, Niigata, Nara, and Kyoto on Japan's side, and Gwangju, Cheongju, Jeju and Daegu in South Korea have been honored as culture cities.