Knowing All about Hunan

State Council Approves Lukou District Establishment in Zhuzhou City

Updated:2018-08-06 09:44:50

  The State Council approved the establishment of Lukou District and revocation of Zhuzhou County on June 19, 2018. On August 1, as was learnt from the Hunan Provincial Civil Affairs Department on August 1, 2018.

  According to the central government approval, after the adjustment, Zhuzhou City now governs five districts of Hetang, Lusong, Shifeng, Tianyuan, and Lukou; three counties of Youxian, Chaling, and Yanling; and, takes charge of Liling, a county-level city. The area under Zhuzhou’s jurisdiction is 1916.38 square kilometers. The city has a population of 1.53 million. The total area of the city is 11,247.55 square kilometers, with a total population of 4.3 million.

  The establishment of Lukou District will be conducive to Hunan’s new urbanization construction and help promote the building of the Changsha-Zhuzhou-Xiangtan city cluster and the comprehensive reform of a resource-saving and environment-friendly (Two-oriented) society construction. It will be beneficial to Zhuzhou rail transit industry chain extension and enhance the regional radiation capacity of Zhuzhou City. It was believed to drive the development of the Luoxiao Mountainous area and assist in poverty reduction. This will help coordinate the Xiangjiang River Basin protection and promote the high-quality development of the Yangtze River Economic Belt. The establishment of the Lukou District is not only a major opportunity for the development of the former Zhuzhou County and Zhuzhou City, but also an important measure for the comprehensive reform of the two-oriented society construction.