Knowing All about Hunan

Awarding Ceremony Held for Five New National Garden Cities (Counties)

Updated:2019-01-24 10:13:27

The Hunan Provincial Housing and Urban-rural Construction Work Conference was held on January 18, 2019. A plate-conferring ceremony was held for the newly-selected 2 national garden cities and 3 national garden counties. Four cities and five counties were also honored as “provincial garden city (county)”.

According to the “Notice on Naming the 2017 National Garden City” by the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development, Hengyang and Zixing were included in the national garden city list; and Youxian County, Guiyang County, and Jianghua Yao Autonomous County the national garden county.

According to the relevant documents of the People’s Government of Hunan Province in 2018, the cities of Zhangjiajie, Linxiang, Huaihua, and Jishou were entitled as “Hunan Garden City". The counties of Lixian, Xintian, Yueyang, Xiangtan, and Dong'an were honored as “Hunan Garden County”.

The Hunan Provincial Department of Housing and Urban-Rural Development pointed out that the establishment of the (ecological) garden city (county) and human settlement environment (demonstration) awards comprehensively reflected the quality of the city and its development. Hunan now has 51 garden cities (counties), including 9 national garden cities, 6 national garden counties, 15 provincial garden cities, and 21 provincial garden counties.