China Post will issue a set of four stamps and a miniature sheet on July 11 to mark the Forbidden City's completion's 600th anniversary and the 95th anniversary of its opening as the Palace Museum.
First officially occupied by the imperial court in 1420, the Forbidden City served as the royal palace of the Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties, experiencing many critical moments in Chinese history.
The UNESCO World Heritage site is also the world's biggest and best-preserved royal compound featuring wooden buildings.
Its current role as the Palace Museum, which opened to the public in 1925, enables its rich art and history to enthrall visitors from around the world.
The miniature sheet features a stamp of the Forbidden City's floor plan to show the site's symmetrical layout.
The set of four stamps depict iconic structures, including the stone bridges across the Golden River; Zhonghe Dian, or the Hall of Central Harmony; and Qianqing Gong, or the Palace of Heavenly Purity.
These experienced severe damage in several fires and reconstructions.
The stamps also feature Qianqiu Ting, or the Pavilion of Immortality, in the Imperial Garden.